Of unfulfilled wishes..

Often, in the hollows of our heart, we have wants that just reside. Painful, but true. Absolute. From what I have observed and experienced, here is my try to capture the dynamics of a parent-child relationship, from a child’s perspective; who has his wishes unfulfilled..

I wish you could be proud of me,
I wish you could irrevocably count on me.
I wish you could see how much you mean to me, Ma.

I wish you’d share your day with me,
I wish you’d call me your baby.
I wish you would tell, how much you love me, Pa.

I wish you could forget your troubles and share my joy,
I wish you would console me when I would cry,
I wish you would see through me, Ma.

I wish you would tell me ‘All is okay’,
I wish you would put my troubles at bay.
I wish you would cradle me in your arms, when I would need you, Pa.

I wish I could confide in you, when I wanted to pour out my soul,
I wish to be comforted, and want to feel whole.
I wish we could just lay in the afternoon sun and smile, Ma.

I wish to be the best daughter, turning your tears to dew,
I wish to leave no complaints or disappointments for you.
I wish I could live up to your expectations, Pa.

I wish you would try to understand my part,
I wish you would peep into my heart.
I wish you could see the pain I go through, when I see you crying, Ma.

I wish we could have that special bond,
I wish you would occasionally ask me about my favorite song.
I wish someday, I could tell you how much I love you, Pa.

parental-care

About Dhvani Parekh

A simple girl in a complicated world.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

