A Lethargic One.

As my rickshaw halted near a signal this afternoon, I saw an old lady, selling flowers sitting at one corner of the road. She was so much absorbed into her work. She was diligently washing the sheet which formed the base of her flower bed. She then organized all the roses, into systematic piles, and cut the thorns. Later, (Yes this is Mumbai traffic we are talking about) most probably her son stopped by and there was this huge smile on her face. How wonderful she was! Doesn’t she do the same mundane thing over and over again, every single day? Doesn’t she have enough reasons to be sad or to worry? I wonder whether the word boredom exists in her dictionary, looking at her sheer enthusiasm while getting baked in the hot Mumbai sun.

Where does she get the motivation to do her work everyday with the same energy? What is her driving force? Hard to imagine. But relating that incident, to my life, I nearly laughed out loud. We all live in comfortable homes or else you wouldn’t be reading this. We all have been born with a silver spoon if we compare our living and hers. Sure, we all have problems but didn’t she have too? We all are constantly searching for sources of inspiration. Today, I found one. Whenever I feel down, I am going to remember her. Her alacrity, especially.

We are lazy beings. We cannot even manage to convince ourselves to walk from station to college everyday. Those who do, are lazy about writing assignments, studying (we just love to be lazy about it), helping someone or sometimes as simple as getting up and switching on the fan. Technology has made us into morons. The more things work on a click, the more we succumb towards the vice of sloth. We make castles in the air, but we never implement them. We think too much, and do nothing.

While this incident drowned me into this deep train of thought, I have decided to be conscious about my own activities and looking out for my share of laziness. I have been observing my lack of activity, and constantly remind myself that I should be doing something. But trust me folks, that is simply not enough. I do not know how to get any of the focus or determination back in me. How to not be lazy, since it feels like this ungrateful little thing has ensnared my body and mind. I end this post, with a lot of questions in mind, to which I have no answers. Do you?

squattingladywithrose

About Dhvani Parekh

A simple girl in a complicated world.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Lethargic One.

  1. Rishabh Jhunjhunwala says:

    thought provoking… πŸ™‚

  2. suril says:

    Nice one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

