Try being Kind.

Kindness, according to me is one of the best virtues that a person can imbibe. The other side of this coin is humility. Kindness is an endangered trait with a lot of hybrid versions coming up! All that we are left with now is pretentious people wanting us to believe in their ‘sincerity‘ and ‘innocence‘. To find a genuinely kind person in this big bad world, is like finding an oasis in a desert. But how come, we find ourselves in such a situation? Where has this loving, compassionate quality in us gone?

I believe it is present inside all of us, but its manifestation depends upon many governing factors. Most of us though fall under the category of the ‘half-kind’. Yes. We are misers. We measure our kindness. Give and take. That is ALL that we know. We believe that for every nice thing we do, the universe owes us a nice thing in turn. Why is that we always expect something in return? Expectations ruin everything. But away from this thick fog, lies the clear horizon of compassion. Of giving. Of living.

Just put in some efforts to make someone smile. Walk that extra mile, to make your friend happy. Smile while talking. Be chirpy! Forgive easily. Overlook the minor mistakes. Laugh uncontrollably! Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle. Spread happiness, because it is contagious.

My New Year’s Resolution this year, was simple. Everyday, I had to make sure that I did one such deed/act that would make a person other than myself, happy. And trust me, I was surprised to see, my little efforts made a huge difference. It is very easy to make people happy. Everywhere, they are the same. Shower them with a little care, and they bloom like flowers. Little things matter the most. These are the small moments that we need to look out for. I know, and I speak with experience, that no amount of happiness is comparable to the one you get when you see others happy because of you.

I just encountered an incident today that snapped me in this terribly good mind-space. I started to think of all the people that I’ve managed to surround myself with. That it is a good life, if I get to share it with these fine people. They are the ones who have been tolerating me, adjusting to all the crabby moods. A little time, and an extra smile seems legit.

But. The truth beckons us all. The world is full of bad people, as your Mom rightly warned you. The hope lies on us. The good ones, the dark knights. Fight for the right, fight for the remnants of what was once a magnificent virtue.

As Mother Teresa puts it:
β€œPeople are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.
If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway.
For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.”

About Dhvani Parekh

A simple girl in a complicated world.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Try being Kind.

  1. suril says:

    Well, I must say very nicely written but I personally think there are points I feel different from what you have written
    1. Humility and kindness not the two sides of the same coin.
    2. Happiness, sadly is not contagious. Wish it would be.
    some rough facts, but this is just my perspective.
    But it’s good that the new year resolution was realistic and I hope you abide by it. Rest things nicely explained.
    Yes I will try to be kind.

  2. dhvaniparekh says:

    Okay, I find it difficult to believe that someone who is so kind, is not humble. They are traits that go hand in hand. Otherwise, you’re neither. Happiness IS contagious. Ye toh sach hai. Depends on how damaged the person is to not get that disease πŸ™‚

  3. Rishabh Jhunjhunwala says:

    a brilliant read and soo “Dhvani” like…full of optimism and hope…a nice read in not so nice world…
    i hope to take something away from it actually πŸ™‚

    keep the good thoughts flowing πŸ™‚

  4. Aayur Kaul says:

    I completely agree with you, one who is kind is humble as well. πŸ˜€
    Also, well expressed. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

